There are some new names appearing on the trophies at this year’s presentation of eclectic stableford competition results. The group of thirty-two seniors who gathered at the club for the three-course lunch on Tuesday were somewhat downbeat. They had missed out on their weekly trip around the links due to the high winds and heavy rain and had to settle for just the lunch, the company and the presentation.
It did not take long for the mood to change and the volume increased as the lounge began to fill. With the meal over Seniors Captain, Derek Cole, rose to address his flock. Before the presentation he expressed his gratitude to the team of committee members who have helped him through the first half of his tenure in office. Praise was forthcoming for Stan Hudson who had organised the lunch and ensured that the trophies were engraved prior to the event. Allen Watts was singled out for his work in preparing the weekly start sheet.

The second half of the season will entail more work for the captain as he has to sort out his teams, organises away days and the tour and prepare more speeches.He indicated that he will add to this burden by creating an Order of Merit award for all who play in the matches. Those who do play will earn points for winning or halving a match and lose points for not succeeding, ending up with a plus or
minus total at the end. Have fun gents.

The winners and runners up in the five eclectic categories were then announced.Amongst the runners up were some familiar names. Richard Davies, Jim Martin,Roger Barton and Meirion Griffiths all came a close second in one or more category while Rod Clarke, Meirion Griffiths, Peter Williams and Stan Hudson all gained a third place.

The Colin Griffith Bowl for best eclectic net score in the over seventy-five category was won by Jim Martin. The Dudley Williams trophy for the best eclectic net score overall was won by Adrian Palmer.The Ken Gouldsborough Trophy for the best seven scores was this year claimed by Alan Jones in the over seventy-five category and by Peter Hughes in the under seventy-five category.

Adrian Palmer receives the Dudley Williams Trophy

Jim Martin receives the Colin Griffiths Trophy

Roger Barton receives the Des Stone Trophy

Alan Jones receives the Ken Goldsborough Trophy

Peter Hughes was not present to receive the Clifton Jones Trophy