The John Cook Memorial Trophy, a magnificent Claret Jug, was the reward for the highest stableford score on this mild and even sunny Tuesday. The competition was open to all club members over the age of fifty-five. They came in their droves – well, there was a complement of forty-two who took to the links with the aim of earning the right to display this trophy on their mantelpiece for the next twelve months. Only one succeeded.

Chris Beecher first off on the 1st tee.

Two had dropped out but two replaced them to keep the numbers up. Unfortunately, one member was unable to complete the course. He retired after fourteen holes, still nursing the achilles problem sustained a couple of weeks ago.
This year’s event was the second inaugural competition for this trophy. The first two competitions had been organized and played as medal competitions. This year it was arranged as a stableford competition, which was more in keeping with John’s approach to seniors’ golf. A number of seniors even tried John’s practice of putting from anywhere on the fairway – but without his success.
There were quite a few seniors who bemoaned the fact that they were unable to achieve much success with their putter. Roger Barton’s score was kept below forty this week, mainly due to the fact that he missed or fell short on many putts. Jim Moffatt also declared that while he played well he too failed to maintain his usual putting prowess. Allen Watts and Chris Beecher watched in amazement as a few of their putts grazed the hole but refused entry on the first attempt.

Tony Ranoe escapes from the bunker on the 10th

Bill Davies had two birdies in his round of thirty-three so some of his attempts with the putter must have paid off. So much so, he decided to celebrate with a ‘CUP OF TEA.’ David lamb, on the other hand, fresh from his outing to Cheltenham last week, may ask for his club fees back. He doesn’t think, on this week’s performance, that the quality of his golf is giving him value for money.
Of the forty-one who completed the course over half scored thirty or more points. Just missing out on that number were Dudley Willams, Charles McFee and John Stevenson all on twenty-eight.
This week the prize money stretched to the top five scorers. Just missing out, with a score of thirty-five points each, were Jim Moffatt and Adrian Palmer.

That meant that Chris Beecher picked up a small reward for his thirty-six points. Taking fourth place on thirty- eight points was Meirion Griffiths with same score as Roger Barton who had second. Runner up, all on his own, with thirty-nine points was Bob Forrest.

Meirion Griffiths putts out on the 6th watched by Roger Scholfield

Dudley Williams makes his way on to the 6th green

This year’s winner and the holder of the John Cook Memorial Trophy was Austin Davies, the only player to reach the grand score of forty points.
Also receiving remuneration for their excellence, or is that luck, in scoring a two were Ron Murphy on the twelfth and Roger Scholfield on the seventeenth.
Along with the John Cook competition there was another competition taking place out on the course for five exclusive members. They may not have known it but the Alan Yates trophy was up for grabs. This was competed by senior members over the age of eighty, of which only five members played today. The first senior to have his name engraved on this new trophy was Ron Murphy who returned a score of thirty-three.
The captain congratulated all who took part, especially the winners. He did, however, express his disappointment at some of the slow play which was demonstrated by the gap of two or three holes between some groups indicating that this takes the edge off the enjoyment for some.
To complete the day three member were fortunate in having their names selected in the bag draw. The lucky trio were Meirion Griffiths, Ross James and Dudley Williams. Next week sees the start of the Summer matches when eighteen members from Glynhir will join us on the links.

Derek Cole with today’s Winners – Ron Murphy (The Alan Yates Trophy) and Austin Davies (The John Cook Memorial Trophy)